Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

005

Why is that something as ordinary as chocolate chip cookies is one of the most delicious treats? Perhaps its very familiarity is what makes it so scrumptious. They bring back days spent at Grandma’s as a child; afternoons spent mixing up cookies with my sisters; sneaking spoonfuls of dough.

009

Here’s the recipe that we have used for years. Just within the past months my sister & I have modified the recipe to our tastes: reducing the sugar and adding some toasty pecans. They were a splendid hit, even with our critical Dad. He informed us that they were the best cookies he ever ate. He freaks out if we suggest changing the recipe slightly.

.

Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Mrs. Fields’ recipe

Printable Page

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 twelve-ounce bags bittersweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup toasted pecans, chopped coarse

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350° F.

2) Cream the butter and sugar in a stand mixer set to medium-high. Mix in the eggs and vanilla.

3) In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients. Stir in the chocolate chips & nuts.

4) Place golf ball sized pieces of dough 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake in preheated oven for 8-12 minutes, or just until the edges and bottoms begin to brown.

5) Allow to cool on the cookie sheets a few minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes approximately 30 cookies

 

004

 

 

 

 

 

22 Responses to “Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Matt says:

    LOL! I can just see your dad freaking out! I’m totally understand where he’s coming from. If you obtain perfection, then be all means stop messing!!

  2. Kiran says:

    Agreed with Matt. Why to mess with Perfection? ;)

  3. Maria says:

    The cookies look perfect to me! Yum!

  4. Christa says:

    O. Wow. Those look divine.
    Love the idea of toasted pecans in them too.

    Yep – I’m with your Dad about not messing with them if you’ve got it perfected. ;)

  5. Kim says:

    Wow! These cookies looks so good. I know there is a lot of chocolate chips cookies recipes, but this one looks amazing!

  6. OH MY! These look perfect. The perfect combo. Can’t wait to try these!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  7. I think you are right, familiarity does account for a great deal of the things we like doesn’t it, we are drawn to the things that remind of good memories. Chocolate chip cookies are just one of those kinds of foods that you just can’t help but have happy thoughts about.

  8. Sheena says:

    I’m always on the look out for new cookie recipes, these ones sound so good! And I love the pecans in them.

  9. Beautiful photos and delicious cookies! Glad to have found your blog!! :-)

  10. Sasha says:

    beautiful photos!

    there is nothing better than a basic chocolate chip cookie. that said, i am still hunting for that perfect recipe and i look forward to trying these.

  11. Liz says:

    Great classic recipe!

  12. yummm erica! your food photography is always so lovely and seals the deal when paired with your recipes :)

  13. oh these look soft and melt-in-your-mouth. I bet they taste heavenly straight out of the oven.

  14. Pei-Lin says:

    Yup. It’s definitely its familiarity that makes it a comfort food. (See! This holds even to a Malaysian like me! Actually, I’m rather different from my fellow countrymen due to my 32-month stay in Minnesota. *LOL* My palate had changed since then, and is still changing: I love to try out different cuisines.)

    I’m gonna share the chocolate chip cookies I baked recently on my blog in the time to come, but unsure of when they’re gonna be. I got to learn about these two fantastic recipes from Molly of Orangette. I wish I can try yours; I’d like to know how they taste like. I’m sure pecans make great addition. Mrs. Field should be proud of her invention! Haha!

    Stellar photography as always. And, DON’T tweak the recipe further for your dad. *LOL*

  15. Those look to-die-for… I love chocolate chip cookies! They are the BEST! Great photos!

  16. I used to commute with my father into NYC when I was working there… and at Port Authority they have a Mrs. Fields shop. The smell was torture… and somehow I was able to resist the urge to buy out the store.

    And now I have the recipe! Thanks!

  17. Thanks for sharing the perfect recipe for perfect cookies. I love chocolate chip cookies, but then again how can you not?

    We invite you to share this post and some of your favorite food posts on Food Frenzy.
    Please check out our community.

  18. Janel says:

    Ah, pecans make the world go ’round…

  19. My husband freaks if I suggest tweaking my recipe too!! Looks yummy! ♥- Katrina

  20. These chocolate cookies do look so perfect! Have a great weekend.

  21. Hannah says:

    I just made these delicious cookies and they turned out wonderfully! Thank you for the recipe, Erica!

Leave a Reply

